Farmway Co-op, Inc. announces scholarship recipients

Farmway Co-op, Inc. recently awarded ten college scholarships to area high school seniors for the coming school year. The scholarship opportunities were separated into two categories - FFA and Farmway Producer-Member.

"Supporting our communities and its students is an important part of Farmway's philosophy and we're excited to help these students pursue their agricultural career," said Mallory Wittstruck, Farmway communications director.

Those receiving the $500 FFA Scholarship this year were: Tanner Durham, Beloit; Shayna Braun, Clay Center; William Ohlde, Clifton-Clyde; Clay Boley, Concordia; Merritt Blain, Lakeside; Brooke Jensen, Pike Valley; Trent Frye, Republic County; and Zach Bohnenblust, Riley County.

The scholarships were awarded based on an application filled out by senior FFA member applicants from the area high schools in Farmway's immediate trade territory that have an FFA chapter and who are planning to continue their post-high school education opportunities in agriculture.

Those receiving the $1,000 Producer-Member Scholarship this year were: Nicholas Wineinger from Lincoln and Connor Eilert from Beloit.

The scholarships were awarded based on an application filled out by senior students with legal guardians who are active Farmway Producer-Members. The scholarships were also based on the applicants' essay titled "How I plan to contribute back to agriculture."

Farmway will continue its scholarship program next year and will send out the applications to area schools early next January.

For those wanting to become a Farmway owner or member, please contact a Farmway location or call 785-738-2241 for a membership packet. Information is also available at www.farmwaycoop.com.

Other News

Like us on Facebook! Job Hub