8 Man 2017 Division I - West

Story Photo


Head Coach: Matt Fowler, Spearville, was chosen as Division I West Head Coach. He graduated from Lockwood High School in Lockwood, Missouri in 2003. He attended Sterling College and played football for the Warriors and graduated in 2008. Matt has been the head football coach at Spearville for 8 years with an overall record of 51-31. The Royal Lancers captured the 8 man division I State Championship in 2015. It was the first state title in any boy's sport in school history. Matt also teaches 6-12 physical education and serves as the Athletic Director for both the Junior High and High School. Matt has been married to his wife, Beth for 8 years and they have two children: Timothy 4 and Lydia 1.

Assistant Coaches: Marc Cowles, Ness City, was chosen as Division I West Assistant Coach. He graduated from Wallace County High School in 1991 and received a Bachelor of Science degree from Fort Hays State University. Coach Cowles is in his second year as head football coach at Ness City High School where he is also the Strength and Conditioning Instructor as well as the Athletic Director.  Marc also serves as an assistant on the NCHS Track Team.  Prior to moving to Ness City Marc was the head coach at Weskan High School for 13 years. Chet Skinner, Macksville, was chosen as Division I West Assistant Coach. He graduated from South Gray High School in 2009 and Sterling College in 2013. He played three years of football at Sterling College. He received a BS degree in Exercise Science with emphasis in both Biology and Coaching. He is currently pursuing his Masters Degree from Fort Hays State University. He has taught at Macksville High School for the last three years and serves as the 7-8 Science Teacher, 9-12 Strength & Conditioning Teacher, High School Football and Girls Basketball Coach. Chet and his wife Taylor have been married for two years and are expecting their first child next fall.


No. 1 - Joshua M. Schmidt, Goessel

No. 2 - Will Ginther, Atwood-Rawlins County

No. 3 - Luke Heskamp, Spearville

No. 4 - Taylor J. Rogers, St. Francis Community

No. 7 - Brock Waters, St. Francis Community

No. 8 - Andrew Withers, Skyline

No. 9 - Gerald Morehead, South Central

No. 14 - Quinton Cravens, St. Francis Community

No. 20 - Seth Hemberger, Argonia

No. 21 - Kolton Sheppard, Wichita County

No. 30 - Logan Schlegel, Ness City

No. 32 - Cole Sramek, Rawlins County

No. 34 - Brady Ricke, Attica

No. 40 - Clay Zeller, Little River

No. 45 - Trey Schulte, Central Plains

No. 50 - Hunter Pearson, Canton-galva

No. 55 - James Radenberg, Central Plains

No. 56 - Devin Brown, Ness City

No. 57 - Franko Holguin, Kiowa County

No. 58 - Wyatt Strecker, Spearville

Other Sports

Like us on Facebook! Job Hub