Mon Jan 23 Mitchell County Hospital Health Systems Annual Board Meeting



Mitchell County Hospital Health Systems Annual Meetin


Monday, January 23. 201


By Terry Bailey

A common theme ran through all the reports presented at the annual Mitchell County Hospital Health Systems Board meeting. It is the people. The people are the driving factor behind all that goes on. The medical center and the hospital exist to take care of people. The doctors, nurses, and staff are people who exist to take care of people. Regardless of the technology, the governmental regulations, or the insurance red tape, the people are the driving factor.

Curt Frazier, board member and emcee for the meeting introduced the people who serve along with him as Board members. They are: Brent Cunningham, Mike Heller, Kris Kimple, Brad Eilert, Chris Mondero, and Brigit Gasper.

Giving the first report of the evening was Stephanie Simmons, Executive Director of the Mitchell County Regional Medical Foundation. Assisting Simmons in the day to day functioning of the Foundation is Shelby Bohnert - Development Director, and Lorraine Jensby – Finance Director. Members of the Foundation Board are: Jim Copp – president, Karol Kadel – vice president, Tammy Pruitt – Secretary/Treasurer, Jeremy Armstrong, Jason Cheney, Carl Fugate, Brian Gates, Max Heidrick, Michele Heidrick, Eldon Koepke, Bob Lampert, Vickie Mears, Anita Walsh, Brent Cunningham, and Curt Frazier


According to Simmons the highlights of the Foundation work in 2016 was launching the first ever Diabetes Prevention Program for North Central Kansas, administered over $350,000 in grant funding, and distributed $32,000 in funds to purchase equipment and staff enhancements.


Vickie Mears, president of the Hospital Auxiliary was unable to attend due to a death in the family. Frazier touched on the high points of the work of the auxiliary. Assisting Mears in the work of the auxiliary are: Shirley Conley – vice president, Karen Buser – Economy Shop, Ilene Bunger – Secretary, Bonnie Steiner – Care Cards, and Mary Kay Eilert – Pink Lady coordinator. Expenses incurred by the auxiliary were: Solomon Valley Transportation - $2,500, Wellness Blood Drive - $885, Fetal Monitor - $40,000, Scholarships - $3,500, and 80 Sleep Sacks for Newborns - $624



Brian Dilner, President and Treasurer of the Hospital Endowment Committee introduced members of the Committee: Chris Mondero, Brian Eilert, Brigit Gasper, and Janice Peters. Dilner noted that the success of the Endowment Fund is due to the strong foundation laid down by the leaders in the past. Success would be an appropriate word because the rate of return of the investments for 2016 was 14.62 percent



Completing the presentations for the evening was the CEO of the Mitchell County Hospital Health Systems, Jeremy Armstrong. Armstrong commented that one of the greatest challenges in health care in rural America is the recruitment of physicians. He noted that the addition of Dr. Mariah Crumbaker and Dr. Mark Banker were considered very fortunate additions to the physicians in our community

Armstrong stated that change is the watchword of the medical community. Many factors drive change such as the affordable care act, insurance and Medicare reimbursements, technology, the aging population and on and on. And….there is the current change that must be addressed as well as the change that is on the way that no one knows about. He ended his remarks by commenting, “We do what we do for the people. That is what it is all about.”


An important recognition for years of service was noted. Those recognized for 35 years of service were: Rita Rowlison, Jan Kemmerer, Kelly Schmidt, and Donna Weeks. Two staff members were recognized for 40 years of service: Mary Gray and Vicky Mahin.


Retirements of long standing employees was observed: Doris Shroyer with 36 years of service, Mike Meier with 36 years of service, and Ann Heberly with 42 years of service.


During the year, employees of the quarter awards were presented to Kim Johnson – First Quarter, Julia Cady – Second Quarter, Delvina Letourneau – Third Quarter, Lacy Miller – Fourth Quarter.


All the presentations of the evening indicate a very successful year for the Mitchell County Hospital Health Systems – thanks to all the people

Other News

Like us on Facebook! Job Hub